Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
Closed Thread

Thread: Code 5 Bag

Forum Member

Default Code 5 Bag

Hello,

I just got hired on with Cal Fire and this is my first year in the fire service and I've found myself in a pinch. I'm trying to figure out how much stuff I should buy for my code 5 bag, such as articles of clothing (uniform pants, shirts, underwear, socks, off duty clothes.) My hire dates June 1st, so I would like to get all of the shopping done as soon as possible. If anyone out there can point me in the right direction it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    Arch

Carry the stuff your going to need; resume, suit, job applications...sorry, I couldn't pass up the joke.

There are always the essentials that you want to carry; toiletries, socks, underwear, shirts, etc. etc. Not being a Cal-Fire guy, the biggest suggestion would be to go talk with some of the line firefighters that will be doing the same job as you. Its been my experience that just about everybody is willing to tell you what they carry and why. The line firefighters for your agency will know what is required carry items (like uniforms) and what are good stuff to have with you.
    -Tradition-
    Just because you've always done it that way doesn't mean it's not incredibly stupid.

Forum Member

Ok you will need pretty much anything to last 14 days without anything being washed, yes you can have things washed before that sometimes but sometimes you might not be able to. So plenty of socks, underwear, cal fire shirts(i had like 7 shirts besides my station shirts) if anything wash them in the hotel room ha. Of course toothbrush, soap, shampoo, bring a roll of quarters, batteries, some relax shorts and shirt, a polo shirt, extra boot laces, make sure you have plenty of work pants, a sweater, tp, wash cloth, sandals in case you have to use a camp shower. Ill think of more stuff and will post it