Default Help Deciding a Major

I am ending my freshman year at CSU Long Beach, and have come to a point where I need to decide on my major. I have talked with a couple firefighters and advisers, but there seems to be no one clear answer. I don't expect to find one, but any advice would be greatly appreciated.

The majors offered that seem to be best suit:
    -Health Science (Community Health Education)
    -Kinesiology (Exercise Science and Fitness)
    -Communications
    -Any other majors anyone have seen successful in the career?

I was told public administration was also very good, but we just offer a graduates program here.

Then I have the question that does it even matter which major I graduate with? Should I just choose one that I would enjoy? Or should I leave and pursue a firefighting degree online or at another school?

Thank you once again for any advice.

-Sean

MembersZone Subscriber

I am currently a full time college student about to finish my junior year. The best advice I can give you is the advice given to me by my parents. Major in what you enjoy. If you do that, and you do well, fire departments will recognize the fact that you received your degree and this will help you out regardless of what you major in. In my opinion, almost any major can be related to the fire service in some way - this will help when you get to the point of taking an oral interview. And again I'm going to emphasize this point - make sure you get your degree in something you enjoy because if you get hired as a firefighter after college and you end up getting injured and are not able to return to the job, you will have your degree to fall back on and will be able to get a job doing something you enjoy.

Good luck and stay safe.
    Last edited by GFD1FF; 04-29-2009 at 08:59 PM.

Forum Member