Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 Last
    MembersZone Subscriber

Question Live- in programs

Hey everybody I've got a year left in the Air Force as a medic. I'm currently a FF2/EMT-B volunteer firefighter. Getting out pretty soon and heard that some volunteer departments have programs that allow you to live in the firehouse if you have a full time job, or are a full time student. I wanna go to medic school when I get out or get I99 at least before I start applying, but does anyone know if being a live-in volunteer helps when it comes to hiring? Naturally, these guys run a lot of calls in some areas like PG County, MD for instance, so I'm thinking very seriously of doing this while I'm in medic school.

MembersZone Subscriber

I too am very interested in doing something very similar. I really would like to get my paramedic license while doing a live-in program.

MembersZone Subscriber

yeah I figure the experience factor would be a plus whenever I start applying, so I figured it wouldn't be a bad idea to take advantage of one of these programs.

Forum Member

It does depend upon where you are looking to go for school and if there is a dept doing such a program. In WI, there are several volunteer depts that have such programs, some are now a 3 year program where you do a 2 year Associates in Fire Science and a 1 year paramedic. The dept typically takes care of the tab for medic and helps with some school costs and you also may get a stipend even while receiving room and board.