Default From firefighter to administrator

Does anyone have experience going from working as a firefighter to working as an administrator either in public safety or government? I am currently a firefighter (8 yrs) and I'm working on my MPA degree. When I finish I'd like to make a change to an administrator position either continuing in public safety or going into government. Any thoughts on this matter would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

harrfd24

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by harrfd24 View Post
    Does anyone have experience going from working as a firefighter to working as an administrator either in public safety or government? I am currently a firefighter (8 yrs) and I'm working on my MPA degree. When I finish I'd like to make a change to an administrator position either continuing in public safety or going into government. Any thoughts on this matter would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

harrfd24

The Fire Chief of the DCFD, came up through the ranks. He was been the City Manager in Dothan, Alabama, before being appointed the Fire Chief in Atlanta. Before being a City Manager, he had been a FF in DCFD, Chief Officer in AZ, VA and the Chief in Dothan.

Does that count?

BTW, I had always love being a fireman and not to get into politics.
    Stay Safe and Well Out There....

Always remembering 9-11-2001 and 343+ Brothers

Experince is key. 8 yrs is not enough. Education only goes so far.

Forum Member

With a Masters and 8 years experience in the fire service you will definitely find jobs. In recent years, emergency preparedness has become a forefront in many communities and organizations. Other than FD's and city manager positions, Hospitals, health departments, large businesses have created emergency management coordinator positions. You will be more than qualified for many of the coordinator positions at FEMA too. Do a job search at usajobs.