Forum Member

Default Explorer/Jr FF programs as recruiting tools

While there are certainly other benefits, both to the community and the fire department, to having Junior Firefighter or Explorer programs, are such programs an efficient way to recruit volunteer firefighters? If you are primarily interested generating potential recruits, would these programs be a good use of your time in comparison to planning and carrying out more traditional recruiting drives?

I've got some experience in another volunteer organization with a junior component and for the most part only a small percentage of those that join as junior members move directly into becoming an adult member when they reach the right age. Most move on to college and other things and while a certain percentage re-join the program in their 30s and 40s, you can't really count on your local junior program as part of your adult recruiting campaign.

MembersZone Subscriber

Default recruiting

these days with all the economic stuff going on; and with all the social enticements offered by society - if you get one or two explorers a year that become FF's - that is an excellent program!!!

lets' face it - these are kids and they have their entire lives ahead of them. the smart ones will follow the path of life that their interests and education leads them on.....very few will find that the trail takes them right back home for the rest of their lives.

Forum Member

So far we have gained 3 firefighters from the explorer program in the past 3 years, including myself. It is a great tool when used correctly.
    Career Firefighter
    Volunteer Captain

-Professional in Either Role-

Quote Originally Posted by Rescue101 View Post
    I don't mind fire rolling over my head. I just don't like it rolling UNDER my a**.

Forum Member