Default Did you make a total career change?

Hello,

I was wondering if anyone here knows of someone, or has personally made a total career switch into the direction of FF'ing.

I'm curious because I graduated college with a major in accounting, and minor in econ. and have done nothing but financial analysis, manage billing\pricing, and accountant work since I graduated in CT and moved out to CA.

Originally I had planned on joining either the Army, or working towards joining a Police force, or FF. BASICALLY... what I consider the complete opposite of Accounting work (desk jockey?). Unfortunately I let outside forces influence me in a direction I should've known would only provide me one thing... money. And no happiness.

SO - at this time, I am just begining to put forth a serious effort into
    1 - Learning as much as I can about the profession.
    2 - Do what I can to gain experience or get into hands on situations that will put me in the right direction and give me better perspective.

Besides my unrelated college education, I have a clean record, and I think besides hiking and rock climbing, I had CPR training years ago when I worked a rock climbing wall as an instructor and safety super visor. But that was 3+ years ago...

So - any advice on how\where to start, what testing\classes to take first (EMT I assume and find local Academy testing sites\times) would be greatly appreciated
    AND...
    any foreseeable problems given my specific situation that I may need overcome.

Thanks again for any help!
    ~Jeff

MembersZone Subscriber

Default Recently in your shoes

Hi Jeff,