Forum Member

Default Florida State Fire College PT test question's

I take my pad June 6th for the July class, was wondering how people did on the pad test, my sit ups are 45 in a minute 5, push ups are 25 in 30 seconds and my run is 10:30 for the mile in a half.

I've been using an large truck tire and sledge hammer to get ready for the forcible entry. Was wondering how hard was moving the 115# beam on the sled?

And does anyone have any tips?

Thanks
    Last edited by ctrlaltdelete; 05-08-2009 at 09:22 AM.

Forum Member

I graduated class '07-01. The sled is easy, you have five minutes to do it in. I saw one giant dude do it in 8 seconds. The hose dragging shouldn't be to hard if you've been dragging a tire around. There's no time limit for it, it's strictly pass/fail.

The testing begins with the sit-ups first, then push ups. When I took the test there was about 75 people testing...literally half of them failed on the sit-ups. After those two things they break you up into groups, and you do the sled, hose, and ladder carry. The hardest part is if you have to do the hose drag last since the run is right after it.

Tip: be every where on time, come clean shaven, don't cuss, and stay quiet. When I took the test they made all of the people with long side burns, goatees, and mustaches go shave. If they came back late they didn't test. I saw some people kicked out for cussing near instructors, or talking while the instructors where speaking.

Congrats on making it to this point, I waited for a year to test there. It is an extremely rewarding and memorable experience if you can get in. Good luck!

Forum Member

Nginear,

Thanks for the tips, I was planning on a military hair cut before I go. Do they watch for strict form on your push ups/sit ups? and who counts them, you or an instructor? I was surprised that the sit ups only require you to touch your knees and don't go all the way up.