Thread: seeking advice

Default seeking advice

I am 20 with 3 1/2 yrs left in the navy and plan to get out and become full time firefighter. i was hoping that someone could point me in the right direction with online courses or certs to go towards so i could be prepared when the time comes to get out. any information would be greatly appreciated.

thanks .

Forum Member

I'm no expert but I think certs ect will depend on the state your looking to get on. For example here in Fl you need to attend an academy here due to from what I heard out side certs are extremely hard to transfer, so online courses ect will not work. Do you know where your going to live? If so I would contact a local fire house or even the county/city hr for info.

You could also again if you know where you going to be is post the question "your local firehouse" for that state

Emt - Paramedic certs are huge and can greatly increase chances of getting hired, does the navy offer those?.

Best of luck and thank you for serving your country!

MembersZone Subscriber

Hey, I know that is a long time but it can be very rewarding in the military. Once you have your DD214 that will get you additional percentage points on examination in most cities. Attempt to get your Emt and Paramedic if possible. National Registry of EMT's and National Association of EMT's certs are a little different and you will need to investigate the differences and who and which states accept which ones.

Keep a clean driving record!!!! and a clean criminal record!!!! (was that stressed enough)

Maintain a list of good references from your commanding officers. This is good for the resume.