Thread: Wet Bunker Gear

Forum Member

Default Wet Bunker Gear

During one of my training classes, a person got 2nd degree burns on his left arm because the turnout he was wearing was not dry from the previous day's evolutions during a live fire session.

How does the department deals with such situations? As I am still learning, I have not come across any regulations pertaining to wet bunker gear and live burns. Of course gear is going to get wet, but how does the department attempt to mitigate such incidents from happening? I do not know if the student's gear was faulty which resulted in a burn, (god forbid) but I do know that his gear was wet and left to dry out over night. It didn't dry out so well.
    Infinite In All Directions

Forum Member

I have never heard of wet gear causing adverse reactions or hazardous situations. My gear has gotten soaked many times, and I've never been burnt. (knock on wood!)

You said he was a student; Are you sure he didn't don the gear improperly?
    Dave Bieniek

FF/EMT
    Valley Grove Vol. Fire Department

EMT
    Tri-State Ambulance

Professional in either role.

MembersZone Subscriber

it is useful to turn the gear inside out if it is wet on the inside. the gear is made to allow air to sit inside the thermal liner to prevent heat from contacting the skin of the wearer. water will transfer the heat because it is not a good insulator.

If possible use a second set of gear when you are going to be involved in proximity to heat if the gear is wet. Also properly and thoughly dry the gear when wet too.

Overall it is the instructors responsibility to inspect gear prior to the live fire event training.
    Originally Posted by madden01
    "and everyone is encouraged to use Plain, Spelled Out English. I thought this was covered in NIMS training."

Forum Member

All members keep a spare set of NFPA compliant spare gear to put in service whenever needed. (gear is wet, contaminated, getting cleaned)

Forum Member