Talking Paramedic to FF/Medic: a transition (FL)

Found this site from EMT City, first time poster. I have just moved to Florida from North Carolina for my boyfriends job. Where I am from, EMS is completely separated from FD so I have no firefighter training at all. I have a AS degree in EMS and will be taking the FL medic exam in a few weeks. Problem is I am living in Sunrise (south FL) and all the 911 jobs I could find are FF/Medic.

At this point, I really can't afford to shell out 2-4 thousand dollars (higher for me as an out of state student) for the 450 hour FF I & II class. I need to work at least part time, so attend a 9 to 5 class would be difficult. Is is possible to take the class in individual courses, rather than as one big expensive class? Or does it not work that way?

I have the utmost respect for the FD and appreciate all their work along side us and vice versa, but I don't feel I am really built to be a firefighter. I am very petite and small framed. It took a lot of time at the gym to be able to handle the stretcher and bags as a medic. Realistically, would I be able to just work on the ambulance or would I generally be required to be on the apparatus?

Thanks for any info you can give me.

Forum Member

Plantation, FL is the only city that runs EMS separate from fire in that area.(it's all under the Fire Dept, but EMS are single role providers). Downside is that it's a smaller department and you are hired as an EMT/Driver for about 1 year until you're promoted to medic. Otherwise your options would be to drive out to Collier County, Lee County, or down in the Keys for 911 EMS separate from fire. There are 3 major private amb co's that do interfacility, back up 911, and BLS transports for FD (AMR, American, and Medics). I believe medics has the current contract to do BLS transports in Palm Beach County.