Thread: Disqualified?

Question Disqualified?

Hey guys,
    First post here. I'm a cook in the Navy, and will be getting out soon, and have been trying to get more info about switching careers, and going FF. I've wanted to be one for over 6 years now, but just never really took the desire seriously until now. My brother is a Naval EMT on Okinawa, JP, and works with the federal FFs out there and has been helping me get my stuff together.
    I'd like to go federal if possible, but would like to hear anyone’s thoughts on the matter if you were up to it. If the Fed route doesn't work out I'd like to work in the Portland ME area However it has occurred to me that before I go to far and waste my G.I. Bill on school , and all the time that goes into it, I was looking for some insight from some of you. There are a few areas that I am concerned about that I need some clarity on, some of which require some back ground, but I'll try and keep it brief.

1st off, I was wondering about disqualifiers. There are several I am worried about. Let's start with the medical issues.

Recently I was subjected to mold poisoning from the barracks that I lived, and it caused a laundry list of physical problems, that I am now finally over coming. One of them though, even though I have managed to completely rid myself of all the symptoms by use of simple supplementation (iodine), is a form of auto immune disease (hashimotos thyroidisis -thyroid auto immune dieses). Is this a disqualifier?