Forum Member

Default Kansas City Area Firefighters - Just looking for some guidance...

Hey guys. I am somewhat new to firehouse. I live outside the Kansas City area (near Lawrence, KS) and have been a volunteer firefighter for over 4 years. I was always told that "If you want to get hired as a firefighter, become a paramedic".... So thats what I did. I completed an Associates in Applied Science Fire Medic and have these certs:
    -IFSAC Fire I, Fire II, Hazmat Awareness, Hazmat Ops, Driver/Operator: Pumper, Driver/Operator: Aerial
    -EPA Hazmat Technician
    -CPAT and FSEE (86)
    -NREMT-Paramedic
    -NREMT-Basic, Kansas EMT, & Missouri EMT
    -BLS, ACLS, PALS, & ITLS
    -IS100, IS200, IS700, & IS800

I know it probably doesn't matter too much to hiring boards, but I am planning on getting my bachelors in fire service management in Fall of 2010.
    Now that I am done with school, I have nothing to do but volunteer more time at the fire station and wait for a phone call. I have been applying for 6 months and have had very little luck. The department that I did get interviews with had to postpone hiring due to this messed up economy.

So I have a couple questions:
    1.) I have applied to three different Missouri fire departments over the past 6 months and none of them have started me through their hiring process. Do Missouri departments not accept IFSAC certs?

2.) What can I do to better prepare myself for a career? I bought some books on the history of firefighting... And I have been practicing for interviews. Any training I should be thinking about?

Nobody ever told me about how time completely stops when you are job searching. If you guys have any advice, I would really appreciate hearing it. Thanks in advance.

Forum Member