Thread: Phoenix FD

MembersZone Subscriber

Default Phoenix FD

I am finishing my bachelor degree in Fire Science at Arizona State once I return from Iraq this September. I was just wondering how the Phoenix Fire Department is and how they are on hiring? The website doesn't offer much information. I am very interested in pursuing this career and would love any input from fire fighters nation wide or local PFD.

Forum Member

Have no idea how much they pay but they are an extremly progressive department which tends to stay on the cutting edge.

They provide a full range of services.

Forum Member

I looked into Phoenix years ago 1989ish, their salary was pretty good. The downside was the residency requirement. You had to be a resident of Maricopa Co and have a valid Arizona drivers license.
    I'm not sure about now. I think there are a couple of members from Phoenix and a few from AZ. Good luck.
    IAFF

MembersZone Subscriber

I am a resident of Maricopa county and have an AZ license. The website makes it seem like they hire once a year in the spring. I am just wondering how tough it is to get into this department and if the military backround is a plus. I've heard from some FF's that being in the National Guard can be a negative in a fire house which seems crazy to me. I have served 4 years in the Infantry and can't see how that could be a bad thing.

Forum Member

Hey brother, I just got back from there in April, I was out West...WAAAY out west off Route Silver, I'm a Grunt myself.