Question Bullex System Fire Extinguisher Trainers

I am looking for the good, the bad and the ugly in regards to the Bullex fire trainers... Has anyone actually used these trainers and can compare it to the real deal????

I have been teaching fire safety for the past 15 years using the conventional burn pan and dry chem extinguishers. Yes, very messy but it provides my students, (not firefihghters) with the heat, the smoke, and the powder from the extinguisher, etc.

In reviewing the Bullex systems, I really dont see much more than a flame dancing on top of water! Oh and the cost, WoW!

Thanks for any and all information!!!!!

FITZ
    Last edited by Fitzburglar; 06-30-2009 at 11:37 AM.

Forum Member

My fire company just purchased a set of extinguishers a couple of years ago and we could not be happier. Every year on the Friday before fire prevention week, we hold one of the largest expo in our county. For years, we used dry chem.

Some pros: only requires propane, flame is controlled by a remote switch (if while doing a demonstration for children and they cannot find the sensor to extinguish the fire in an adequate time, just release the button and the flame goes out), very clean set-up and break down, and no need to acquire a large quantities of dry chem extinguishers. Also, you can set the system to challenge even the most experience firefighter. Can be use indoors.

Some cons: Need to train members as a team so extinguishers can be filled quickly and efficiently, need enough propane for the event, very sensitive and not much room for error when aiming at the sensors.

In regards to paying for them, you can probably get it through a grant or check with your congressperson.

Hope this helps.

Forum Member

We have the complete setup. We have 4 extinguishers the burn pan, plus al the props (electric motor, sauce pan, garbage can). The system we have has a rechargeable battery pack and a hose that attaches to our scba to repressurize the extinguishers.