Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
Closed Thread

Default Should I Test With Tattoos?

I have read literally a hundred posts written by aspiring Firefighters who have tattoos looking for reassurance that they can make the cut. My heart goes out to you guys. I am in the same situation but with a unique twist. I was a volunteer Firefighter for three years 18-21. While testing for various departmnets (two in total) I landed in a construction job for five years where I aquired most of my non racial, non sexual, non offensive tattoos (unless you hate tattoos of course). I then left the construction job for a corporate job which I've had for 4 years, and the irony is I have to wear a suit and tie to work every day. I look back on my life now and I have one big regret. Not following through and becoming a professional Firefighter. My question is not if Fire Depts. will accept me with tattoos, it is should I test with tattoos? I'm in the process of lasering off my 3/4 sleeve. I'm lasering it off so I can be a Firefighter. So if I test and the Fire Dept. notes that I have tattoos when I retest will they hold this against me even if they are gone? Furthermore should I be upfront about the tattoos if I make it to the ORAL or should I let the medical reveal all. I'm not ashamed of my tattoos, and in retrospect I'm glad I never made it on a paid Fire Dept. when I was younger. I wasn't ready for the commitment and I was way to immature. I'm ready now. Instead of being a hero I just want to give something back. Lasering off my tattoos is a small price to pay. Thanks for your advice.

MembersZone Subscriber