Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Default Cairns 1000/1010/1044 helmet users - What is your preferred eye protection?

I have been wearing a "turtle shell" style helmet for last 8 years or so- never had a traditional style helmet. I was just wondering what you guys with traditional helmets prefer.

I am going to go with a Cairns 1044, and I see that they make them with several different types of eye protection. I notice alot of people have the goggles, but IMO I don't ever see myself using those. I know they may "look cool" strapped updide down to the back of my helmet, but I don't really know if they would be practical in deploying them in an emergency situation. Most people that have these also have the little flaps attached to the underside of the front of the helmet. How well do these work?

They also offer a new thing called a "defender visor" which is basicly a pair of straight across safety glasses that retract into the inside of the helmet between the shell and impact cap. That looks really practical but I still don't know if I like it.

I guess the last but not least is the regular visor attached to the shell of the helmet which would of course get exposed to alot more heat and be prone to damage. I like these fine for eye protection, but they always seem to get damged by heat and scratches from stuff falling on them. I've been through so many that I don't know if I want to go down that road again.

Thanks for your info.

Forum Member

Some of the guys in my department have the new defender 1010 helmets. Haven't really heard much either way about them, but also don't see them deployed much.

The flip down face shield is mostly worthless as eye protection. It's secondary protection at best.

I don't wear a Cairns helmet myself, but my preferred eye protection is safety glasses.

MembersZone Subscriber