Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: CrossFit

MembersZone Subscriber

Default CrossFit

Anyone here involved in CrossFit? I just started this past month and I'm sure it will prepare me well for the CPAT.

Any thoughts on how well these workouts will prepare me for the rigors of an academy? What else might I add to doing CrossFit 5 times a week?

first thing, follow all three aspects of crossfit - working out, nutrition and sleep! if one component is out, then you won't benefit as much as you could. Especially the rest days. Cross fit main suggest a 3 on 1 off schedule. But you can adjust to how your body reacts.

Second - how is your strength? if your brute strength is lacking you can following the workouts on Crossfit football. they had a strength component to each day.

I have been doing Cross fit, full time, for about 16 months. At 46 yrs old I was one of two in my department that scored a time in the single digits for our annual PAT. Beat all the kids!!!!!!

That being said - I think cross fit is the best thing going for the fire service!
    Alex
    FF/EMT-B
    Red Bluff City Fire Dept
    Tehama Cnty Fire Dept - Co. 4

MembersZone Subscriber

If you're doing Crossfit 5x a week, you don't need to DO anything else, and likely are already fit to do the CPAT. This is, of course, you are doing the exercises as prescribed with 100% intensity. It's hard stuff.

MembersZone Subscriber

Quote Originally Posted by alex104 View Post
    first thing, follow all three aspects of crossfit - working out, nutrition and sleep! if one component is out, then you won't benefit as much as you could. Especially the rest days. Cross fit main suggest a 3 on 1 off schedule. But you can adjust to how your body reacts.

Second - how is your strength? if your brute strength is lacking you can following the workouts on Crossfit football. they had a strength component to each day.