Forum Member

From what I know the RPAT is considered to be easier than the CPAT. Start out with carrying a hose bundle up 5 stories, come back down, advance an uncharged hoseline approx. 75' then drag another 75' or so to your position. Next is equipment carry, I believe a chainsaw and rotary saw, one in each hand, walk around a cone and back. Then a CPAT style "forcible entry simulator" where you take a sledge and hit a target until an alarm sounds. After this is a darkened maze crawl. You end the test with a dummy drag, which I think weighs 180lbs, and is dragged 100'. If you have taken and passed the CPAT the RPAT will be no problem. Keep in mind also you have 15 minutes to complete the test. Good Luck.

MembersZone Subscriber

Default Written Exam

Does anyone have information about the written exam? This is my first attempt at a firefighting job. It says "general knowledge," but I'm wondering if this means general knowledge about the fire service or simply reading comprehension etc.

thanks,

Jeremy

MembersZone Subscriber

From my previous "general knowledge" test experience's they are like a very watered down SAT... if 6th graders took the SAT it would be at their level. I have seen some test that are a little harder then others and some that contain general related fire questions, but for the most part The math portion usually has world problems that require you to use fractions, percentages, multiplication, or division. Reading comprehension is exactly what it sounds like! If you can read... you can pass! Some portions have gear, pulley, or lever diagrams which you have to figure out their rotations or their ending actions. Finally and Im sry to beat the dead horse, but count on some sort of a map scenario... either its for memory questions or direction based questions.

also Richmond is holding a open house on Aug. 26th at their headquarters. It should be a great time to ask all kinds of questions and get your name out there! I know I'll be there...