Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Default Where we've come from...

I found this little gem on firenuggets.com, and it's worth the read!

Where We’ve Come From

By Lou Wilde

Sometimes with the busy lives we all lead, we too often forget where we’ve come from. It happens to all of us to some extent in our personal lives and our careers. I hope as a chief officer I haven’t lost too much perspective of what it’s like down in the “trenches.” I do recognize that in the past 5-6 years that I have been riding a desk as opposed to the engine, I have lost a little of what came as second nature. I’m sure I could still charge a hand line and set a relief valve correctly, but I don’t get out of bed nine times on a nightshift anymore. I do my best to keep in touch with those who are still doing the job out there every day and night. I hope I am anyway.

Talking with a fellow chief from a nearby department about this exact subject recently, we discussed the newer junior officers (lieutenants and captains). We both remarked on noticing that every now and then the officer sometimes forgets that he used to be a grunt doing the dirty jobs or how when he was a firefighter he was the smart *** of the group who often challenged the officer on his decision making or openly critiqued the officer with his fellow firefighters. Now as an officer, he has no tolerance for the firefighter he used to be. The shoe’s on the other foot. The same goes for training. Before, as a firefighter, he maybe thought that repetitive drill on the basic skills was pointless, but now as an officer realizing that the onus is on him to keep his people safe and that they may rely on that reflex skill to stay alive.