Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Default Possible Move to Florida- How easy? Current career FF

Hello,

I'm currently a career Firefighter/paramedic in a suburb of 60,000 just outside Chicago. I've been career for 4 years and part-time for two before that.

I hold the following certificates:

IL firefighter 3
    Fire Apparatus Engineer
    Public Safety Diver
    Fire Investigator
    Rope Operations
    IL Paramedic License

I also have experience in both public and private fire investigation, investigating close to 100 fires a year in and around Chicago. I understand it's possible to take a test to get my Florida firefighter certificate. I'll also be looking to get my national registry paramedic license. What's the job market like? We'd like to move to the southern part of the state, gulf or atlantic side doesn't matter.

Forum Member

From what I have seen, which you may already know, any certs from other states most likely won't transfer to FL, you can try it. I think FL does not recognize the NR.

As for jobs, depends on which area you are wanting to move to, if you open to anyplace, then you should be pretty good with at least testing at a place. You may need to be open in driving 1-2 hours from where you live if you are set on 1 place to live.

Forum Member

Challenging the State of Florida Fire Standards is a very tedious process and I have not known personally or heard of many people successfully getting the OK to challenge the test. Florida is very picky about who they let in to test based on the hours and education requirements that meet Florida Standards.

I have on the other hand hear often that people outside of Florida just go through Florida Standards because its easier than having to deal with the crap involved in getting reciprocity.

As far as National Registry, yes you will need it then just challenge Florida and you should be fine.

Ok ready for the bad news?

Just to give you some insight on job outlook here: