Forum Member

Default pump/odometer confussion need help!!!!

Hello to all, im still new in the fire service with three years. I am the driver of a 100' platform peirce aerial truck, with a 300 gallon tank and a waterous pump. I have been on this apperatus for about two weeks. During my morning inspection we have to put down how many miles it has on it, well long story short i wrote the miles downs and began inspection. After checking out the pump i went back to the cab to take it out of gear. (its the new electronic gov with pressure and rpm) and just so happen to look back down at the odometer and the mileage went up!!! and yes some people may think well your just looking at the wrong gauge thats engine hours or pump hours no no i promise its odometer. anyways what im getting to is WHY does the odometer go up while in pump gear?
    put is this way when i pulled the apperatus out the bay at 7am by 7:20 i had been 4.5 miles and had not been but about 100 feet thank for any reply

Forum Member

You have been in the fire service 3 years and still dont understand how a midship pump works ? I suggest you get a pump manual and then a creeper.

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by slackjawedyokel View Post
    You have been in the fire service 3 years and still dont understand how a midship pump works ? I suggest you get a pump manual and then a creeper.
    Yokel, you have been in the fire service for how long and don't understand that odometers don't register pump mileage on all trucks (especially nowadays with electronic transmissions???) Even on older, mechanically-driven odometers, it was possible to route the cable to not register mileage.

While I agree that gadog should know the intimacies of his particular set up, some trucks do register mileage and some do not. I suspect that with three years in the fire service, he is a relatively new driver.
    "Loyalty Above all Else. Except Honor."

MembersZone Subscriber