Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: CFI Test

MembersZone Subscriber

Default CFI Test

I am preparing to take the CFI test, I am studying 921, 1033, Essentials 4th edition, Kirk's, and a few other reference materials. Are there certain things that I should study or other materials? I have over 20 years in the fire service and have investigated a number of fires but in a small department we do not have many fires and most are accidental so we do not get to in depth. I have attended our states two fire investigation class. Any help will be appreciated. Thank you.

MembersZone Subscriber

Quote Originally Posted by firemanjh28 View Post
    I am preparing to take the CFI test, I am studying 921, 1033, Essentials 4th edition, Kirk's, and a few other reference materials. Are there certain things that I should study or other materials? I have over 20 years in the fire service and have investigated a number of fires but in a small department we do not have many fires and most are accidental so we do not get to in depth. I have attended our states two fire investigation class. Any help will be appreciated. Thank you.
    If you are talking about the IAAI CFI, I am on the committee that reviews applications.

The first question I have, based on your self-description, is do you have the education and experience credits? Do you have either two court testimonies or did you take the Expert Witness Testimony class?

If you do, or if you are going to meet those qualifications soon, here is the reference list:

NFPA 921, Guide for Fire and Explosion Investigation, 2008 Edition, entire booklet.

NFPA 1033, Professional Qualifications for Fire Investigator, 2009 Edition, entire booklet.

Brady, Kirk's Fire Investigation, 6th Edition, (Chapters 4, 7, 8, 10, 15, 16, and 17)

IFSTA, Essentials of Firefighting, 4th Edition, (Chapters 1, 7, 13, 14, 15, and 19)

NFPA, Fire Protection Handbook, 20th Edition, (2008) (Sections 3, Chapter 8)