Default 1934 Pirsch Firetruck

Hello Firefighters,

I am not a Firefighter, but I am a career army service member and a EMT (though expired at present) I am a UAV Warrant Officer with the 1st SF Group at FT Lewis WA. One of my hobbies is collecting military vehicles, while on a MV related website I found a interesting stories posted by a friend of mine in Columbus, GA:

http://www.steelsoldiers.com/convers...frietruck.html

"This is sorta MV related because the vehicle was reportededly used on Fort Benning, Georgia waaayyy back when for a period of time.
    It is a 1934 Pirsch and is in very good condition...not running though.

This Unit belongs to a group of Firefighters here in Columbus, Georgia who bought it with the intent of restoring it and starting a "mini" firefighters museum. Lack of private funds etc. has not let that happen. They were told it had to leave the fire station and it was outside under a tarp for several months. Then they were offered a storage shed to put it in where I'm sure it would have met a tragic fate.

I coordinated with the folks who actually own her and offered to store it inside at my place where we can get her running, stopping etc. I feel confident that we can.
    In return..we get to use her at our displays and parades...manned by retired or active firefighters."

With Regards,
    Dale

Forum Member

Default 1934 Pirsch Fire Truck

Quote Originally Posted by ABN173rd View Post
    In return..we get to use her at our displays and parades...manned by retired or active firefighters."
    Displays and parades? Heck we still have (2) 30 model Pirsch trailers as first out trucks and a bunch used for reserves.

Picture taken today:

Last edited by MemphisE34a; 07-27-2009 at 06:01 PM.
    RK
    cell #901-494-9437

Management is making sure things are done right. Leadership is doing the right thing. The fire service needs alot more leaders and a lot less managers.