Default UK Firefighter wanting to emigrate to USA.

Hello All,

I am a full time firefighter in the United Kingdom for one of the busiest fire services in the Uk. I have been a firefighter for 6 years, but in the next couple of years I am planning on emigrating to the US.

I am an American citizen, holding a US passport...was born in California, with an American father but have lived in the UK since the age of 2. I still visit family in CA regularly and still very much class myself as American.

Anyway, I am at the point now where I am planning and researching what I can do in terms of becoming a Firefighter in the USA.

I am wondering whether my by then 7-8 years experience will count for anything, or is it likely that I will have to start from scratch and go through the application process like everybody else?

Obviously I wouldn't expect to straight transfer across, I just have no idea what the process would be.

I really am at the beginning of my research, and this is my first port of call, and first contact with anybody about this, so if anybody could give me any pointers or information about what my first steps should be, who I should contact, what I should expect, it would be very much appreciated.

My family are based in Orange County, and I would be moving to somewhere around that area. So possible Departments for me would be Orange County, Long Beach, and LA.

I know this is a very long post, but if anyone has read the whole thing..thanks for reading.

Paul

MembersZone Subscriber

Paul,