MembersZone Subscriber

Default How do i get a job? volunteer or part time

i live in columbus ohio and i am 18 years old. I have my firefighter level 2 (240), emt basic, cpr , and hazmat operations. i have never orked or volunteered anywhere and dont really know where to start. what class should i take? i know paremedic but what about hazwoper 40 hours or fire invesigator 1? i am a first generation firefighter hopefull no one i really know is a firefighter so any advice would be very helpful thanks ezra

Permanently Removed

ezra- Some thoughts for you.

First- Please do not be offended, but looking at your English and grammar skills, you could use some work. (I am not perfect either, I have typos everywhere) But take a class on basic Basic English or writing skills. Trust me, you will need them for this job.

Second- Figure out where you want to work and live. You have some generic certifications and I dont think they will work every where. Once you figure out where you want to be working, then fine tune and adjust.

Third- You need to know where the jobs are. Spend the $5 or $6 a month for a job service. I recommend Fire Recruit.com (www.firerecruit.com)

Fourth- Start volunteering somewhere in a non-fire position to show you not only care about yourself. If you've been through a fire academy, be a Reserve Firefighter somewhere to polish your skills and keep them up to speed.

Hope all of this helps, you can visit www.eaststess.com for other nuggets.

Bou
    Last edited by CALFFBOU; 07-29-2009 at 11:53 AM.

Forum Member

I agree with Bou but will add a couple more.

Stay in school! You are, as you say, only 18. You have a lot of time a head of you.

Finish high school, try to get into a college and get a degree in business or some field that you can fall back on if you can't get a firefighters job.