Closed Thread
Page 1 of 5 1234 ... Last

Thread: 100+ foot Quint

Forum Member

Default 100+ foot Quint

If you were to spec either a 105' or a 110' quint who would it be made by and what different specs would you have on it?

MembersZone Subscriber

What are you looking for? Mid mount? Rear mount? Platform or stick? There's a lot of variation there.

We run a 2003 Sutphen 110' platform. Carries a 500 gal tank, 1000 ft 5", 4 150' 1 3/4" lines, 1 200' 3" line and a blitzfire in the front bumper, along with a strong compliment of truck co tools. It also has almost 170 ft of ground ladders. Compartment space is in the neighborhood off 200+ cu. ft.

Forum Member

Probably a rear mount because we have some hard-to-access areas. I have no experience with a mid-mount so i wouldn't know if we wanted one or not. This quint would be first out to apartment and high-occupancy buildings. We would need a lot of hose and compartment space.

If it was a platform, we would want a tower-ladder. Otherwise just a stick
    Last edited by FFSKPII; 08-02-2009 at 11:45 AM.

Forum Member

Food for thought.

If access is an issue as you say, you might consider dropping back to a 75' or something on a single rear axle. That will shorten OAL and turning radius. With a 100+ ladder, you typically add a second rear axle and another set of outriggers.

On the occasions you need a larger aerial, call for a tower or longer stick.

Determine a couple of basic questions before you start your shopping.

1) Rear-mount or mid-mount?
    2) Steel or aluminum ladder?

That will narrow your choices to a manageable number. Operate and climb each type in your own jurisdiction. See how they handle the tight spaces. Any vendor that can't get you a demo, scratch them of the list.

It's important that you don't let the tail wag the dog in this type purchase.
    For example, Sutphen will sing the praises of mid-mount aluminum, while Pierce will likely push rear-mount steel.