MembersZone Subscriber

Default More FDNY Questions

Hey everyone. I am currently a paid volunteer firefighter in Idaho with Wood River Fire and Rescue. A friend of mine and I are really interested in getting into FDNY and wanting to start careers over there. So far we have talked to some people down at Station 174, I think thats the station number, in Lower Manhattan. What advice do you guys have on getting ready for the academy and/or hiring process in general? Both of us have our EMT/B and FF1. From what I hear this doesn't mean much seeing as we get that in the academy. But what are some things we can do to get ready to move from a small rural department that covers maybe 20 miles of houses/wildland to a bigger urban enviroment.

Thanks a lot for the help.
    Slainte
    -Alex

IACOJ BOD

Climb stairs. Lots of them.
    Psychiatrists state 1 in 4 people has a mental illness.
    Look at three of your friends, if they are ok, your it.

You have FF1 and EMT?

You also have experience as a Volunteer?? they will prob hire you on the spot and you wont have to go to he Academy...

Forum Member

No such place in lower Manhattan called station 174. Maybe you where in Brooklyn at Ladder 174? You can have all the certs in the world....they mean nothing and will not aide you in getting a job. They only thing that may matter is the NYS CFR-D cert. Read about the hiring process at www.nyc.gov/fdny It outlines the process. To be honest, not a single member cares where you come from or what "experiences" you think you may have. Do yourself a favor and NEVER mention it....EVER.

You will need to be a resident of the 5 boroughs, or surrounding counties in NY. Its a big commitment, and expensive venture. It takes at least 3 years to get hired once the test is given...but that was during the massive hiring done from 2001 to just last year....those days are over....maybe 100 guys a year....maybe.
    IACOJ Member

Forum Member

I second all that Vinny said.