Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
Closed Thread

Default Odds of getting hired?

Hi there, I've had a long time interest in fire fighting, but decided to pursue my bachelors degree first. I now have my business degree, and am interested in testing for some departments. I have no fire fighting related experience. I did have a year of explorer search and rescue in high school (don't know if that helps).

A department about an hour from where I live is about to start a hiring process. They are accepting only the first 250 applications, and there is also an application fee. The EMT-B certification isn't required the first year.

My question is this worth at shot at, or are other certifications, or more experience necessary to have a good shot at getting hired?

Thanks

Forum Member

Hangar, pursueing this job is always worth the chance. I too waited untill i had my degree in Fire Science before i started applying to career departments. im now in my 3rd year applying for the departments here in NC, and have not had much luck. In my experience, i have found that past Volunteer experience is always helpful but not needed. The departments i have interveiwed with care more about your character and history more than anything else. this career path is EXTREMELY competitive and hard to land a job. i would start applying now so you have some experience going through the processess. besides if you get hired, most departments well help pay for your schooling. best of luck

Testing is like dating- Take every opportunity you can and you'll get better with every process.

As for testing in general and having no experience, I HIGHLY recommend figuring out where you want to work and live first. Find out what are their requirements to apply and work there and focus on getting prepped and ready for future tests.

What is standard in Las Vegas does not work for Denver or in LA or Texas.