Forum Member

Default Why firefighting?

Hello everyone,
    I am a sixteen year old student and I am wondering, what made all of you firefighters decide to fight fire? I am at a bridge where my parents want me to be a lawyer, and I listen to them, but I myself can not see myself doing that every day of my life. I have worked in a law office and I can assure you it is not like T.V. Aside from that, ultimately when your wife crashes to the floor who would you rather be, a lawyer or a firefighter/paramedic?

I realize that the first words out of your mouth's will be, "Be an explorer." I plan on that, but recruitment is closed until November.

So what made you want to be a firefighter?

[If there are any grammar errors please tell me, I am working on it.]

Forum Member
    Rural Wisconsin, Retired from the burbs of Milwaukee

My Dad was a firefighter. I liked the whole front row being full of Mack CF pumpers. All of my Dad's friends were firefighters and they were the Dads of my friends. It just seemed a natural progression for me to become a firefighter.

I love it. I enjoy the challenges, which today mean far more than fire.

Do become an explorer. See if it gets into your blood and if it is what you really want. Your parents believe they are doing what is best for your future, but in the end, it is your life and only you get to decide which career path to follow.

Good luck.

Forum Member

As a child, I lived across the street from my town's HQ station.

In my teenage years, one of my best friends lived next to a firehouse.

I had a few friends who's fathers were on the job.

I had an uncle who served on the Flagstaff AZ FD for 20+ years.
    ‎"The education of a firefighter and the continued education of a firefighter is what makes "real" firefighters. Continuous skill development is the core of progressive firefighting. We learn by doing and doing it again and again, both on the training ground and the fireground."
    Lt. Ray McCormack, FDNY

Forum Member