Closed Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 Last
    MembersZone Subscriber

Default Whats with the West/SW's helmet difference?

Im a noob, but I have noticed a difference in departments Southwest and over to the West coast...like parts of Texas, Arizona, over, wear a different style helmet than the departments I see over here in the Midwest/East coast. They don't have badges in the front and look phallic in shape...

The point of this thread:

Can't you west coast guys buy your own if you want? As long its the correct color?

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by Bimmernate View Post
    Can't you west coast guys buy your own if you want? As long its the correct color?
    Yep, everyone on the West Coast, regardless of where they work, can buy their own helmet.

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by sfd1992 View Post
    Yep, everyone on the West Coast, regardless of where they work, can buy their own helmet.

Oh they can huh?
    Stay Safe and Well Out There....

Always remembering 9-11-2001 and 343+ Brothers

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by Bimmernate View Post
    Im a noob, but I have noticed a difference in departments Southwest and over to the West coast...like parts of Texas, Arizona, over, wear a different style helmet than the departments I see over here in the Midwest/East coast. They don't have badges in the front and look phallic in shape...

The point of this thread:

You just named a huge difference in firefighting style and methodology. Where you live influences every aspect of your job.

the whole "East Coast/West Coast" thing applies to helmets as well. What you've noiticed is that a lot of east coasters use "traditional" style helmets. Some are like NYFD, using the Cairns N5A or N6A in leather, basically the same helmet worn by great grand-dad 100 or more years ago.

there are other traditional style helmets that are made of modern materials and only look old fashioned.