MembersZone Subscriber

Default Recommended Book for Oral Board

Hello all. I have been reading the forums and noticed a lot of questions about preparing for the Oral Board. I'm sure this has been mentioned before, but I wanted to put my two cents in on it. First, let me tell you my background. I have a Bachelor's Degree in Business, military experience, and medical experience but no experience in the fire services area. I interview well but was concerned about what to expect with the common questions in a fire oral board.

I searched the internet and found a few useful sites that provided a glimpse into what to expect. But I finally bought a book that really gave me insight that I don't think I could have achieved without being further involved as a Volunteer or Explorer. That book is "Smoke Your Firefighter Interview" by Paul Lepore. What I really liked about it was that it broke the subject into two main areas: Situational Questions (what would do if you saw your Engineer drinking) and Know the Job of a Firefighter (define customer service). Not only did it give a sample answer, it also gave a reasoning behind the answer. That really helped me understand the thought process of the question so I wouldn't just spit out a canned answer. I felt I was able to answer the question and also provide a foundation on why I answered that way if needed. Also, some of the questions on the Board were almost exactly like the book. I think I would have probably answered the questions more or less correct without the book, but it helped dial in my answers.

I have only tested once. I started out the process with about 300 other applicants. I ended up first on the list when all was said and done and was recently hired as a recruit to start the academy in about a month. I know I've got the hardest part ahead of me, but this book really helped me prepare myself for the interview.

Forum Member

Default Agree