Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Smile Glove rec's for a student:

Evenin' everyone. I've searched what I could for glove info around here, but really only found year+ old threads and gloves suggestions that make sense for an active fire fighter (as in, kinda spendy). I'm currently a student in a fire protection program, and just started FF1. We have gear that we can use, but it's shared with three other classes. I don't mind all the other gear, but I'm just not up for sharing a hood, and trying every class to get the least worn out gloves. The joys of a state ran tech school, eh?

Anyways, I've selected my hood. Now I'm looking into a decent pair of gloves that are still NFPA, but for around $50ish.

Examples I have considered are the Shelby 5227 blue koala gloves (or 5226/5280/5285), the Dragon Fire Alpha, the Glove Corp FFs and FF+, etc. I would love the Pro Tech Titans/Titan-Ks, but I really don't care to spend $80 on gloves that are gonna be used in classes. I could be wrong?

Also, if you have experience, if you could let me know how the brand you use runs in sizes, if they're big/small/etc.

Kind of a large order for a new guy, but I highly appreciate the opinions of the pro's.

Thanks all,
    -Blake

Thumbs up Shelby

Quote Originally Posted by BlakeMN View Post
    Evenin' everyone. I've searched what I could for glove info around here, but really only found year+ old threads and gloves suggestions that make sense for an active fire fighter (as in, kinda spendy). I'm currently a student in a fire protection program, and just started FF1. We have gear that we can use, but it's shared with three other classes. I don't mind all the other gear, but I'm just not up for sharing a hood, and trying every class to get the least worn out gloves. The joys of a state ran tech school, eh?

Anyways, I've selected my hood. Now I'm looking into a decent pair of gloves that are still NFPA, but for around $50ish.