Forum Member

Default Firefighter Outlook

Hello all...

I am an 18 year old student at a liberal arts college, who has always had the thought of becoming a firefighter/EMS for a career. My parents on the other hand, are really leary on me becoming a firefighter. So I went to school to please them, and to test it out. Well, simply put, I hate it here.

Now I'm coming to you guys for advice, please no bashing on me. I'm on the brink of quitting after the semester and then proceed to enroll in the fire training academy at my local Comm. College, then I would take EMS classes. Do you guys advise this? Is it still possible to get jobs in these fields? I truly am just miserable here at school, it's just not my gig, and I have tried it out for awhile now. It's not like I've decided this on the first week.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Forum Member

Go to college for firefighting... It makes you and your parents happy.
    Kyle
    Upper Macungie Township Station 56, Allentown, PA
    Vigilant Hose Company #1, Shippensburg, PA

The things I post do not reflect the views of the affiliations I belong to.

MembersZone Subscriber
    Not the end of the earth but I can see it from here...

Quote Originally Posted by ScooterUMT56 View Post
    Go to college for firefighting... It makes you and your parents happy.
    ...and vastly increases your chances of getting the job you want when you graduate. Do like Scooter said, consider a major in fire science....
    Chief Dwayne LeBlanc
    Paincourtville Volunteer Fire Department
    Paincourtville, LA

"I have a dream. It's not a big dream, it's just a little dream. My dream — and I hope you don't find this too crazy — is that I would like the people of this community to feel that if, God forbid, there were a fire, calling the fire department would actually be a wise thing to do. You can't have people, if their houses are burning down, saying, 'Whatever you do, don't call the fire department!' That would be bad."