Forum Member

Default Firefighting in the Cold

Anybody have any tips on conducting firefighting operations in extreme cold?

I'm a newly hired firefighter at McMurdo Station, Antarctica. We have some really extreme temps- it's spring now but last wk it was -100 windchill. Pumps tend to freeze the instant we stop moving water. We route the truck exhaust up through the pump to warm it but our 92 Pierces are still freezing.

During a supply operation one of our crews charged 1000' of 3" supply line and by the time to water reached the tip the hydrant was frozen and they ended up with 1000' of solid 3" PIPE to pick up!

I'm from Maine and I've been to some fires at like -20, where masks and lines were freezing, but this is really extreme. Anyone from somewhere like AK or the Yukon have tips?

Thanks!
    Kit

MembersZone Subscriber

When the lines are charged dont shut them down all the way. And cycle the pump. Thats what we did in Fairbanks and unless someone forgot to do one of those things we never had a problem.

Forum Member

During a supply operation one of our crews charged 1000' of 3" supply line and by the time to water reached the tip the hydrant was frozen and they ended up with 1000' of solid 3" PIPE to pick up!

Ok, so I'm confused, explain a little more about the supply operation! I'm thinking the same as the Fairbanks FF and you simply werent bleeding any water, but that sounds to simple to be true! ( I spent two years at Ft. Greely, Ak and have picked up a few frozen hoselines off the ground) I know what your talking about brother! Nothing like Contact Frost Bite! Brass is a pretty thing, until you touch it with out gloves on when its -60!

Forum Member

Default "Flash frozen" supply line