Question Volunteer FD Questions

How does your Dept. recruit volunteer firefighters?
    What do you do to retain volunteer firefighters?
    Do your volunteers get any compensation for the calls they go on?
    Do your volunteers get any state tax breaks?
    Do your volunteers get any fringe benifits?
    Do your volunteers get any retirement and if so what is the amount?

Thankyou for all your help. I have been a volunteer firefighter for the past 18 years in the community I live in and work for a career dept as a ff/medic. I am writing a paper for a company officer class im taking and need some info. My volunteer dept. offers ff's $10.00 per call, ff related education is paid for by the dept., State of az does not offer any tax breaks, no fringe benifits per say, and after 20 years ff' are eligible for a retirement benifit that is currently $200.00 per month.

MembersZone Subscriber

Quote Originally Posted by tucker72 View Post

Thankyou for all your help. I have been a volunteer firefighter for the past 18 years in the community I live in and work for a career dept as a ff/medic. I am writing a paper for a company officer class im taking and need some info. My volunteer dept. offers ff's $10.00 per call, ff related education is paid for by the dept., State of az does not offer any tax breaks, no fringe benifits per say, and after 20 years ff' are eligible for a retirement benifit that is currently $200.00 per month.
    My company does not actively "recruit" volunteers. The volunteers supplement a fully staffed career house.

They don't do anything to retain the volunteers other than offer free training and encourage their continued involvement.

We get no compensation for the calls we go on (that I know of!)