MembersZone Subscriber

Default Certified Instructors?

So I have been a HazMat Technician now going on 9 years. I have completed my IFSAC 88 hour technician level certification and have maintained it ever since. Like everybody else, I have attended and completed many other courses relating to hazmat and have even been responsible for providing training to others.
    My question is: What makes a HazMat Instructor a "certified" HazMat Instructor? My current job (private sector) is requesting me to conduct hazmat training. I am comfortable teaching it, but to whose standards have I been certified to? Is my employer my certifier? I have looked at many different companies that provide training and nobody has a "certified" hazmat title beside their names.

Appreciate the help!

MembersZone Subscriber

That probably depends on the certifying authority in your state. In Missouri, the Division of Fire Safety is who issues the IFSAC certifications, so they are responsible for who is/isn't a "certified" instructor.

MembersZone Subscriber

Would that be the case even for a private sector company?

Thanks for the reply!

MembersZone Subscriber

Quote Originally Posted by Bryan5871 View Post
    Would that be the case even for a private sector company?

Thanks for the reply!
    That I'm not sure about. You might check with your local LEPC on how private industry training is handled in your area.

OSHA has some information within CFR 1910.120, but I haven't dealt with the private sector stuff much.

MembersZone Subscriber

OSHA doesn't certify instructors. A state level entity (or a municapal or industrial department) may require a specific course to be completed but for the most part, it's based on level achieved and experience.

Mostly a train the trainer or similiar course is a good thing to have.