Forum Member

Default Is online fire school that bad?

So i here a lot of people make fun of online fire schools, are they that bad? I need to choose between going to an 8-5 m-f fire school or go the online route where I could continue to work. Secondly does it matter when you apply for a position in a dept. Do they look down on online vs in class. I am looking at a 12 week self paced program with 12 straight days of hands on work. Its the same class work and same skills labs so why would i spend all of that time when I could do it faster at my pace. Thanks in advance also I ilive in Dallas TX if that helps any.

Forum Member

I have no experience with online academies, but as a graduate of a 10 week city academy, I can tell you that we had a great deal of time for practical, skill-set evolutions, which you may not get in a 12-day "crash course." I'm a believer in hands-on training. You may know the textbook standards and practices of throwing a ladder, for example, but until you've done it dozens of times, your ability to perform the task on scene will be sketchy, at best.

Plus, there are some tips and tricks your instructors are going to be able to teach you in a traditional academy that you won't learn online, because they won't help you pass the written tests.

Just my opinion.

Forum Member

Attending an "on line fire academy" is like playing Microsoft's Flight Simulator.

One might start on a Cessna 150 and advance to a Gulfstream V on the computer, but if one gets into the ****pit of a real Cessna and expects to fly it.. one is in for a very rude awakening.

One needs to do real evolutions and build on the basics before one can go into the burn building.. one you cannot do that on a computer.... the Holodeck from Star Trek is still 3 centuries away from being invented.