Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    MembersZone Subscriber

Wink Automatic chains

Almost getting ready to goto bid for new custom engine, looking at auto chains, i searched and could not find anything.
    We are in southern oregon mostly rural with hills, snow maybe 2 times a year less than 6 inches but the ice is what is pain in the you know what. We are getting away from sipped tires and studded tires.
    No one here has had any experience using automatic chains, seems like a good idea, not as expensive as i thought. looking for comments, ideas, suggestions I am open please give me some good advice espically on brands if you would. Thanks!

Forum Member

I've had no experience with them, but from what I've herd it sounds like they would be right for your area.

Forum Member

Post Auto Chains

My dept has On Spot brand on our ladder, engine, heavy rescue, and new tender. The chains saved our ladder on it's first fire call 6 years ago. It was a typical December day in Mn with a fire call at a home which had a driveway with an incline to leave. We started to slip, I engaged the chains and away we went! I would recommend them for any part of the country which deals with snow and ice on a regular basis.

Good Luck and be safe!
    Last edited by mnfirecapt09; 10-07-2009 at 11:29 PM.

I have worked on Insta-Chains and Onspots. The air operated ones seem to be pretty much the same. The electric operated Insta-Chains caused me more headaches than my two teenage daughters. Don't know if Onspot offers electric.
    I've never had to use automatic chains on a big red firetruck, but when I worked for a dealer I had air operated Insta-Chains on my E-450 service truck. They saved my butt several times in the mountains of Virgina. I've heard that they are not so good in deep snow but I know they work great in 4" to 6" of the white stuff.