Thread: Elevator Keys

MembersZone Subscriber

Default Elevator Keys

Is there a website that shows you how to use elevator keys? I've never used them before and we've had several calls for elevator rescues but they are false alarms. I want to know so I don't look like an idiot on scene when it is an emergency. Thanks.

MembersZone Subscriber
    Greater love has no man than to lay his life down for a friend.

MembersZone Subscriber

I'd think twice about just learning to open the doors, and maybe consider a lot could go wrong and get some actual training. Many elevator installers/service companies seem to be very willing to go out and assist FD's with understanding elevator operations. While his name eludes me right now, there's one fire service author who has written a bunch on elevator jobs. I believe he's from CT (New haven or Bridgeport maybe?)

Forum Member

Shut off power FIRST! Then either use drop, nipple, z key or dipstick and open.

Viola!

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by RFDACM02 View Post
    I'd think twice about just learning to open the doors, and maybe consider a lot could go wrong and get some actual training. Many elevator installers/service companies seem to be very willing to go out and assist FD's with understanding elevator operations. While his name eludes me right now, there's one fire service author who has written a bunch on elevator jobs. I believe he's from CT (New haven or Bridgeport maybe?)
    There is also a Chief from the Wilmington, Delaware Fire Department (Hauselbeck or something like that.....) He may very well be retired by now, but I took his elevator class about 15 years ago and it was outstanding.
    "Loyalty Above all Else. Except Honor."

Forum Member

In NY its taught in Heavy Rescue 2. Dont mess with them without proper training.

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by SMOKEEATERFF View Post