Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Default I am not to sure...

I am currently enrolled in a four year university...my senior year of highschool I wasn't to sure what I wanted to do for a living. So I went to this college...not really finding anything I want to do. I have always though about going to a school to become a firefighter but I kind of pushed it to the back of my head because I knew my parents would have a hard time understanding why I would want to do a very physical, competitive job when I could go to a University and get a nice job right out of college.

I am currently live in Wisconsin I am 18, kind of getting a little out of shape because of college ( recently started working out again ). I guess all this post is really about is I want to ask you guys what would you do in my situation? Did you ever have a chance to go to a University? I am really scared about dropping out to become a firefighter especially in the current recession where everyone seems like they can just cut FF jobs to save a couple extra bucks. Also, pretty scared about maybe dropping out and not being able to find a job. The local firefighter station in my town just had testing and there were over 120 people competing! I'f I do decide on pursuing a firefighting career what can I do to help my employment chance? Community Service? Worth going to school to get a Fire Protection/Science Degree? EMS or Paramedic Degree? I know some of these questions are posted else where but some are not and it never hurts to get some second opinions on them.

Lastly, Sorry for the wall of text =X

Forum Member