Forum Member

Default Grant help needed.

I am looking to write a grant for my department to obtain fitness equipment for our new station. However, I am a complete newbie to grant writing.

Where do I start?

FH Mag/.com Contributor

Quote Originally Posted by BillST View Post
    I am looking to write a grant for my department to obtain fitness equipment for our new station. However, I am a complete newbie to grant writing.

Where do I start?
    These forums are a good start to glean info. There are a pile of articles and podcast here at firehouse.com that can give you some basic background info on what's out there. Since 99% of them are mine I might be a little biased towards them so check out the other magazine sites as well.

Two of us that post here regularly are in the business:

(me) www.vickersconsultingservices.com
    (ktb) www.hdgrants.com

Both of us teach workshops on top of handling writing. Also if you have in your forum profile for people to email you then I'm sure you'll get some of the others around here to send you stuff also. That way you've got a good view of who/what is available for help.

- Brian

Forum Member

First convince your department to fund your attending one of the grants classes that BC79r just provided to you. They and you will not be disappointed. Then visit this forum often.

MembersZone Subscriber

DOD has HUGE qty of commercial fitness equipment available. I was 1st FD to use this about 3yr ago. Your state forester is the source/conduit but they may have not req. fitness equipment. But they can and US Forestry will approve. #1 killer of FD ......

At present there are about 150pc equipment in the US. Weight training and cardio equipment of all sorts. More listed every week. Category is 7830.

To see what you/the fire service already missed on go to: www.govliquidation.com (auction of the leftover stuff).

Cost effective as reusing what the taxpayer already paid for. Your only expenses is going to get it.