MembersZone Subscriber

Default South Carolina fire job

Im a 19 year old college student in Wisconsin working on my Associates fire science degree, and have been on a volunteer fire department for almost a year. I am hoping to get a job in South Carolina as soon as i finish my degree and by that time i will have 2 years volunteer experience. I am a nationally certified EMT-b and am working on the EMT-I certification now. By the time I finish the degree i will have FF1, FF2, Driver opperator, Hazmat Tech., Investigation, Tech. rescue,and incident management. I am just wonding how competitive the fire career is in South Carolina and were a good place to start off will be? Thanks.

Forum Member

I would suggest contacting the departments you are interested in. I'm not sure how competitive it is since I'm volunteer. I'll list some of the larger paid departments below.

Greenville
    Charleston
    Myrtle Beach
    Columbia
    Greer
    Spartanburg
    North Myrtle Beach
    Rock Hill
    Florence
    South Greenville
    Boiling Springs (Greenville County)
    Anderson

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by SCFirefighter29 View Post
    I would suggest contacting the departments you are interested in. I'm not sure how competitive it is since I'm volunteer. I'll list some of the larger paid departments below.

Greenville
    Charleston
    Myrtle Beach
    Columbia
    Greer
    Spartanburg
    North Myrtle Beach
    Rock Hill
    Florence
    South Greenville
    Boiling Springs (Greenville County)
    Anderson
    Don't forget one of the largest and busiest in the state:
    http://www.horrycountyfirerescue.com/

Over 500 total firefighters (vol and career) with more than 300 career personnel and 40,000+ calls a year.
    I can't believe they actually pay me to do this!!!

One friend noted yesterday that a fire officer only carries a flashlight, sometimes prompting grumbling from firefighters who have to lug tools and hoses.