Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Default Can a person with HBV be a firefighter/paramedic?

The fire department that I am looking to join required that I am also a paramedic before becoming a firefighter. But I don't mind because I don't mind having more knowledge in the field that I am going. Well my question is, will I be able to be a firefighter if I am infected by Hepatitis B? I am currently taking medicine for a few months now. My doctor said after two years the virus would not be active, meaning I would be negative if I was to get tested.

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by cuongn View Post
    The fire department that I am looking to join required that I am also a paramedic before becoming a firefighter. But I don't mind because I don't mind having more knowledge in the field that I am going. Well my question is, will I be able to be a firefighter if I am infected by Hepatitis B? I am currently taking medicine for a few months now. My doctor said after two years the virus would not be active, meaning I would be negative if I was to get tested.
    It's one of the most common Firefighter diseases, usually picked up on scene. In order to disqualify you from hire, they would have to prove that your condition would prevent you from doing the job or present an unreasonable risk to those you work with. There was a case involving a dental tech with AIDS being fired and he won his job back due to him proving the risk of infecting a patient was so low. The question is, do you feel that your condition would present an unreasonable risk to those who you will be working/living with? I don't think it does, but you'll have the responsibility to keep your brothers and sisters from catching whatever you're carrying. Good luck with your treatment and career. The one plus from having gone through something like this is that it can help give you the knowledge and empathy to help patients with similar medical problems.