Forum Member

Default newbie question re pumping in volume

I'm a newbie to pumping and i had a question that i couldnt find an answer to online so far. I understand the idea behind pumping in volume (the impellers running in parallel etc) but I was wondering if the gauges (intake and discharge) show a different reading when pumping in volume compared to pumping in pressure. Also can you switch between the two while in operating lines or do you have to shut down your discharges before switching over. Sorry for the newbie question. thanks.

also one last question. Do you have to set the pressure relief valve if you are using 2 or more lines operating at the same pressure?
    Last edited by barnyard2; 11-03-2009 at 01:02 AM.

Forum Member

I don't use 2 stage pumps so I'll let someone else answer that.

You should always set the pressure relief valve. Having multiple lines off makes it especially important, if both lines are operating and 1 shuts down abruptly it can spike the pressure in the other line.

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by barnyard2 View Post
    I was wondering if the gauges (intake and discharge) show a different reading when pumping in volume compared to pumping in pressure. Also can you switch between the two while in operating lines or do you have to shut down your discharges before switching over.
    Pressure is pressure, no matter what mode you are pumping in. Gauges will read whatever you are discharging- Remember when you are in volume, your discharge pressure will drop.

Modes can be changed with water flowing, although I would be hesitant to go from a higher pressure back to volume without throttling down. Making the changeover at a high pressure could be exciting!
    "Loyalty Above all Else. Except Honor."

Forum Member