Forum Member

Default P-84 Vs. Nomex Hood

Hey all, complete newbie here.

I'm a volunteer, so our equipment isn't always in the best condition. I bought a "Nomex" hood on Ebay, and when I got it, it turned out to be P-84/rayon/kevlar.

The beat up one I have issued to me is Nomex, so I have no idea what this P-84 is...Same thing? Or did I get duped?

Thanks, and thanks for providing this great forum!

MembersZone Subscriber

Check your ebay hood to see if there is a NFPA 1971, 2007 edition label on it, if there is then you should be good to go.

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by Golzy12 View Post
    Check your ebay hood to see if there is a NFPA 1971, 2007 edition label on it, if there is then you should be good to go.
    Thanks! It was manufactured in 4/2003 by Majestic

It says:

This hood meets the hood interface requirements of NFPA 1971 standard on protective ensemble for structural fire fighting, 2000 edition.

So, it says 2000, not 2007 (obviously because it was manufactured in 03), but were there adjustments made in 2007?

Forum Member

You got a better hood actually. I wear a P-84 hood and it is more comfortable than my Nomex. Hope you didn't pay more than $25-$30 though. That's about the going rate.

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by ENG103 View Post
    You got a better hood actually. I wear a P-84 hood and it is more comfortable than my Nomex. Hope you didn't pay more than $25-$30 though. That's about the going rate.
    It's definitely a hell of a lot thicker than my Nomex, but I mostly attributed that to how old my Nomex one is, until I realized it was a different material.

It is comfortable, definitely, I just want to make sure I'm not putting myself at risk, either in a fire, or being duped by an Ebay listing. Hell, the title said "Nomex Hood!"

I paid $32 total including shipping...Not such a big deal I suppose...

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by vrscdx View Post