MembersZone Subscriber

Default Paramedic School: Anatomy and Physiology

I am currently an EMT-B looking into going to paramedic school. Most of the programs I have looked into require you to have taken anatomy and physiology prior to the course. I was wondering if anyone knew if there is a way to take the anatomy and physiology courses online? And if so if many paramedic schools will accept this to fulfill that requirement. Thanks.

MembersZone Subscriber

that's going to be a tough one since most and anat and phys classes require a lab portion where you dissect various critters.

Forum Member

Agreed. Your best bet would be a community college.

Forum Member

If you choose to get an associates degree in paramedic science these courses are required. If you want to just get the cert then they aren't. Look into a program at IVY tech.

MembersZone Subscriber

In Oregon the Anatomy and Physiology is a 3 part class. I took the first and second in class at a local Community College while I took the final class on line. It was at a local community college as well just was an option. Honestly the difference between the two was small. If you don't have the option for inclass go ahead and take it online.

Check out Mt. Hood Community College (MHCC.edu). You might be able to register and take it even from Ill.

MembersZone Subscriber

Thanks for the posts. I looked into some classes online that also have a lab portion that you can do online. I didn't know if these were legit and would be accepted by a program that I chose. The class I found was through Colorado Community Colleges. Here is a website for the class:

http://www.ccconline.org/courses/cou...01_welcmpg_05f

MembersZone Subscriber

talk to an advisor at whatever school your looking at going into the paramedic program at, and make sure that those credits will transfer. It would suck to do all that work and spend that money for a class that they won't say is legit.

Forum Member