Forum Member

Default wildland fire job?

Hello everyone. I am new to this website and I am looking for some advice. I am 29 and looking for a career change, I want to be a wildland firefighter. I have no experience, but I am currently taking I-100, S-190/S-130 online and I have been in contact with my local USDA forest service fire managers office (Georgia). I am just curious if it is even possible for me to get on a crew this summer? What are my chances? I will move anywhere and work any job to get my foot in the door. Does anyone have any tips to improve my chances of getting hired? Alot of the job postings on USAjobs do not require any experience, but Im sure it hepls.

I have alot of construction experience which may show my ability to work with tools and work in a physically strenuous environment. I also just recently finished through hiking the Appalachian Trail (took me 6 months to finish), and I have a bachelors degree(business admin). Anyways, sorry for rambling. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Forum Member

High if your willing to move to where there is fire. The west hires a crap load of wildland folks every year. Cali is a good place to find work as well!
    "The probability of someone watching you is proportional to the stupidity of your action."

Forum Member

Second thought I finished reading your post. I should have read it to it's full extent the first time. PM me. See what I can do to help you out.
    "The probability of someone watching you is proportional to the stupidity of your action."

Forum Member