Forum Member

Default Turnout Pants on EMS Calls

Hello. I am a Fire/EMS Explorer with the local Fire Department here. I have been doing EMS ride alongs for about 2 years now with a different department (that has no explorers program)...and I am fixing to do my first ride along with the department that has an explorer's program.

What is a good way to introduce myself and mention that I have been doing ride-alongs on a medic unit for about 2 years without sounding like I'm bragging? Also, how can I nicely mention that I can help with stuff like BP, spiking a bag, 4Lead ECG hookup, etc?

Also...we are issued full turnout gear and allowed to assist on let's go now structure fires...hose load up, etc.

We are suppose to bring bunker gear on ride-alongs...

Is it okay for me to wear just the bunker pants on EMS calls or should I just not wear them unless the medics are wearing them?

Any other advice?

thanksabunch.

Forum Member

Unless you are dealing with an MVA, bunker pants are not needed. They are far too bulky and will be a huge hassle. Also, are you a certified EMT? If not, the medics may be wary about letting you attain vitals and spike bags and such. On the other hand, they may be just fine with it. Just dont do it before they ask you too. Dont overstate your abilities. If you arent certified, dont act as if you are. Everyone has to start somewhere.

MembersZone Subscriber

When you get there, leave your turnout gear in your car. Wear your station uniform. Get there a little early and help the guys with their shift change. During this time, make a little work related small talk to learn about how they operate and ask them what they WANT you to do. They'll probably ask about your training and that's a good time to humbly explain your background. Ask how they would like you to help on EMS and fire calls. Your first couple times you'll probably be doing very little until they gain confidence in your abilities. Expect things like helping at rehab and manual labor.