Default Paramedic????????

Let me start by giving you guys some information about. I graduated the Central Florida Fire Academy 9/08. Since then Iíve been actively applying for any fire jobs in Florida. I've tested and interview at least 20 times. Majority of the time the reason that Iím not hired is due to medic preference. My Question is should I go to medic school? If I attend any local school (Orlando Area) I will be limited to the departments that are close by. I have also consider stop actively looking for a fire job until Iím finished with medic school. My main reason for not attending Medic school is I learn better through experience, I have little EMT experience and I work hard to be the best at an area. In my mind I will be a bad medic if Iím not a great EMT first. Help.... Iím trying to be patient... I want to hear what some seasoned firefighter have to say. Most say go for medic school, you got to help yourself get the job. Any Advice would be great.

Forum Member

Reasons to get your Medic now.
    1. You want a fire job and most got to medics.
    2. I don't agree with the " you must ride the ambulane for X ammount of yeras before you have a chance at being a medic." Being a medic IS being a good EMT.
    3. Medic school is hard work. Pulling shifts as a probie and going to medic school would be quite a challenge.

Just my .02 cents. Good luck with whatever you do.
    FF/Paramedic

MembersZone Subscriber

Default medic school 100%

I agree with TNFF319 on his points, I thought the same thing to i took medic school. The school you choose unlike Basic school you will be on the medic truck and in the ER alot.