Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Resume

Post Resume

Hello I am testing as a firefighter in the state of California and starting to get some of the main requirement that make me a better a candidate. If some of you could check my resume to see if there is anything that I should add or revise I will appreciate it.
    Attached Files Attached Files

MembersZone Subscriber

Default Input

Ryan, I'm no expert resume writer, but I would recommend getting it down to one page and eliminating the high school info. Different formats may save space if you are having trouble keeping it to one page. Go to www.firerecruit.com and look at the resume builder page. It has some other samples and some articles about resume writing. Good luck!

Quote Originally Posted by tealla42 View Post
    Ryan, I'm no expert resume writer, but I would recommend getting it down to one page and eliminating the high school info.
    I have a very good friend who works in HR of a pretty big firm. One of his responsibilities is looking at resumes. He provided me with some tips of the business, and he also helped me set up a new resume, which I attached a (slightly edited version) copy of here. Fitting it all onto one page is not a big a deal as some people think- The trick is to have a neatly organized resume which provides all of the pertinent information. If you need 2 pages to do that, then so be it- but don't have the wrong or un-necessary info on those two pages. Mine happens to be one page because I have all of the pertinent information on it- if I tried to add more, it would look like I was trying to "pad" my resume. And yes, you can cut the education, if they want that, they will ask you in the interview process.